Tags

, , , , ,

canstockphoto11263441Back to the late 19th century when the “ballpoint pen,” this genius writing instrument, was created by Hungarian newspaper editor Laszlo Biro (1899-1985).

The “pen” is marvelous, but I have a love/hate relationship with the slender tool. As a child, excitement filled me up when it was time to put the pencil down to use the steady flow of an ink pen. With all that excitement, great angst rose as my mom hatched her devious plan of torture on my hands, fingers and wrists, turning me against the “pen.” Not even my semi-ambidextrous habits could save them from the wrath of writing so many lines.

I remember cursing whoever invented the pen with every tedious stroke, lashing out angrily across paper. Yes…lines, people. That was one of Mom’s famous forms of punishment, along with standing in the corner—that’s a story for another time.

“I will not talk back.”
“I will not talk back…”

“I will obey my elders…”

“I will/will not do this or that…”

Clearly, a rebel in the making. Try writing that several hundred times, a couple times a week and you’d curse the inventor of pen and paper.

The adult me, however, loves the “pen” because I can write to my heart’s content. Funny how the pain of writing for hours, using pen and paper doesn’t bother me much now. The writing is flowing easy and I’ll have a lot to input in the computer when I’m ready. Why am I writing my books in pen? The laptop is about to crash and I need a new monitor for the second desktop internet use (also, cursing the inventor of such sensitive technology. Oh, and viruses. YOU SUCK!), so to no surprise…I am, a.) tired of disconnecting and moving the monitor and keyboard from computer 1 to computer 2. b.) tired of getting tangled up in cords. And, c.) tired of lacking in my daily word count and story output.

If I couldn’t write at all, I would be in big trouble or somebody would be (rebel child with idle hands and all). So, I am grateful for the invention and armed with pen in hand, churning out more stories to publish. The most advantageous thing to writing stories out in pen, is that since the mind flows in many directions, forming many different thoughts at once, it’s easier to jot it down on the side of the page to refer back to before the idea is forgotten. This way, access to internet research is at my finger tips and I can write with less interruptions. But given today’s technology, that I have scorned conforming to over the years, “I’ll take “Computer Tecnology” for $400, Alex.”

How many of you are still armed with pen for writing your stories?

  

