Tags

, ,

By definition, a social media whore is a person who has a psychological need to receive @replies and pings on twitter, attention at tweetups, facebook status update comments and facebook likes. This person usually becomes aroused almost sexually by seeing or hearing themselves or about themselves on social media websites. All this is according to UrbanDictionary.com. I’m sooo not making this up. Seriously, click on the link! Who comes up with this stuff? This was not the meaning that came to mind. I would joke about being a “twitter whore” because I loved it and would stay on for hours.

At first glance, there was nothing appealing about social media to me. Being a single mom fresh off the heels of growing up my three children, taking care of an ailing best-friend and the other daily hub-bub of life…social media was just one more distraction.

canstockphoto8296153

Goodreads was the first platform I tried out besides e-mail. Texting was not always a good idea because so much got lost in translation. Twitter attracted me with its blue-hued notifications. Instantly, I was hooked. I had found a new friend, an ally in twitter. The vibrant orange glow-y square on WordPress invited me in and screamed click on me…NOW! And who wouldn’t love those cute, little red pins from Pinterest. The mobile apps, LOVE THEM! I’m completely addicted to social media (by no means an expert, just an addict).

By the time my day was set with the list of errands ready and the evening meal planned, the pinging of new alerts swayed me. That little ping—music to the ears. But then there’s one more comment to reply to, something to share and something to look up because heaven forbid I keep social media waiting. Pajamas, coffee and a connection to the www. world would keep me busy all day. Surely, I’m not alone in this addiction. I see other addicts as the stream of comments, posts and pics waits for no one, flooding the screen. And that’s not a bad thing. Humans, no matter what, will always crave a connection to something no matter how tiny the connection.

Social media made me feel like I could be social without always having to leave the house, regain some of those people skills (like using a napkin to wipe my hands on instead of my clothes) that I lost along the way between Barney, Dora and Spongebob. Some simple social skills were lost in the shuffle and mature conversation was in strong demand.

Even working as a freelance journalist and the many other odd end temp jobs wasn’t enough to take that urge, that needed connection to other social outlets away. Not-so-shy people can struggle with this too, especially if they’ve been shut-in so to speak and shut-off from the rest of the world.

I am since, still a bit of a social media whore. I just prioritize better, but I will always love that connection to others offline and on. I will always answer the call of the blue, orange and red.

Have any confessions about your addiction/experience with social media that you’d like to share?

